Saturday Brunch Fever

My brother was making eggs benny at mum & dad’s this morning, and I thought “I could do that”. So I did.

The hollandaise sauce was a little bit harder than I originally anticipated (the best French foods always are – macarons immediately come to mind). I ended up making it twice, the first batch separated while I was whisking in the lemon juice over the double boiler. I didn’t have enough real butter left to make the second batch, so I used mostly block margarine. It seemed to work perfectly, I kept the heat down a lot lower and removed it from the heat entirely until it was ready to serve but it gelled and separated as it was sitting on the eggs. Hmmm.

I had some fresh basil and organic baby tomatoes from Pete’s Frootique that needed to be eaten up and Caprese salad might just be one of tastiest treats I’ve ever had the pleasure of eating so that was the inspiration behind today’s brunch.

I used a No Name english muffin from Superstore (the perfect texture and weight for a stay-crispy base), layered four strips of slow-fried bacon and two slices of firm mozzarella underneath two  soft poached eggs (four minutes), poured over the hollandaise and placed two basil leaves and a sliced baby tomato on top.  Despite the separation of butter and egg yolk, the hollandaise surpassed anything I’ve ever experienced in a restaurant with its creamy, salty smooth flavor and a hint of lemon.

Happy Saturday!

Get the recipe I used for hollandaise here from Katherine Martinelli’s blog.

Leave a Reply

